Guided Tours for Individuals

Immerse yourself in 1,000 years of German history. Since the High Middle Ages, Merseburg Cathedral has been the scene of key developments in politics, society and art history, and today it takes visitors on an enchanting journey from the Romanesque to the Baroque to the Romantic period. In addition to the cathedral, it is also possible to visit the chapter house, the chapter house garden and the manuscript vault, with its legendary Merseburg Incantations. We offer daily guided tours of the cathedral including regular tours high up to the towers or down into the atmospheric princely crypt. For an individual tour, we have created an audio guide that explains the changing history of the cathedral, important protagonists such as Henry and Cunigunde as well as the treasures to be found in the cathedral treasury.  

We look forward to your visit! Please note that tours are only offered in German. You can, however, bring an individual translator with you.

Public cathedral tours

We show you the most magnificent and mysterious side of Merseburg Cathedral, starting with the impressive Romanesque architecture, through figures from history to the legends and myths surrounding the Merseburg Incantations, Rudolf of Swabia and Thilo von Trotha.

March to October
Monday to Friday 1 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m. | 1 p.m. | 3 p.m.
Sunday, religios holidays 1 p.m. | 3 p.m.

November to February
Monday to Friday 11 a.m.
Saturday 11 a.m. | 1 p.m.
Sunday, religious holidays 1 p.m.

Duration: approx. 60 min
Costs: 9.50 € for adults, 7.50 € with concession, 3.00 € for school-aged children

Please note the changes in tour hours in September due to concert rehearsels for the Merseburg Organ Days. All guided tours are in German. You can, however, bring an individual translator with you.

Tour of the princely crypt

Tours of the princely crypt are not possible until further notice due to the pandemic.

On every last Sunday of the month we will guide you down into the princely crypt of the Merseburg Cathedral. The three medieval chapels were built between the 13th and 16th century, but only in the 17th century did Duke Christian I of Saxe-Merseburg name them the burial site for his dynasty. 37 closely detailed coffins made of tin and wood are on display here. They remind of the cathedral’s usage as Baroque court church and tell a lot about
burial customs of the House of Wettin during the Baroque era.

Every last Sunday of the month: 2 p.m.
Cost: 5.00 €

Due to limited capacities, we advise you to make a prior reservation via our Visitor Centre.

Public tower tour

Tours of the tower are not possible until further notice due to the pandemic.

Reach for the sky! We guide you up the so-called King’s Stairs to the impressive truss of the cathedral. Passing church bells from the 11th and 12th as well as the 15th and 16th century, we go to the viewing deck on the South-West-tower. The award for this breathtaking climb will be a fantastic view over the cathedral grounds, the city skyline and the region.

March to October

Friday to Sunday, religious holidays: 2 p.m.
Costs: 5.00 € for adults, 1.00 € for school-aged children

Not suitable for persons with a fear of heights. Sensible footwear must be worn. The tower climb is not suitable for children under 6 years old.

Tour with audio guide

Our guests can also use our audio guide for their tour of Merseburg Cathedral. This is included in the price of admission. Let yourself be guided through the cathedral, the chapter house and past a wealth of art treasures. The audio guide provides detailed information on all the highlights such as the Merseburg Incantations, the tomb of Rudolf of Swabia and the Henry Altar by Lucas Cranach the Elder. You can also listen to the imposing Ladegast organ or mysterious legends such as the story of the raven or the mummified hand.

Duration: approx. 120 min
Languages: German, English

FÜHRUNGEN​ FÜR INDIVIDUALBESUCHER

Tauchen Sie ein in 1000 Jahre deutsche Geschichte. Der Merseburger Dom war seit dem Hochmittelalter Schauplatz entscheidender politischer, gesellschaftlicher und kunsthistorischer Entwicklungen und lädt heute zu einer zauberhaften Reise von der Romanik über den Barock bis zur Romantik ein. Neben dem Dom sind deshalb auch das Kapitelhaus, der Kapitelhausgarten und das Handschriftengewölbe mit den sagenumwobenen Merseburger Zaubersprüchen zu besichtigen. Täglich bieten wir öffentliche Domführungen an und regelmäßig entführen wir Sie hoch hinauf zu den Türmen oder hinab in die atmosphärische Fürstengruft. Für einen individuellen Rundgang haben wir einen Audioguide kreiert, der die wechselhafte Geschichte des Doms, bedeutende Protagonisten wie Heinrich und Kunigunde sowie die Kostbarkeiten des Domschatzes erläutert. 

Wir freuen uns sehr auf Ihren Besuch!

Öffentliche Domführungen

Wir zeigen Ihnen die prächtigste und geheimnisvollste Seite des Merseburger Doms, angefangen bei der eindrücklichen romanischen Bauweise, über geschichtsträchtige Persönlichkeiten bis hin zu den Sagen und Mythen rund um die Merseburger Zaubersprüche, Rudolf von Schwaben und Thilo von Trotha.

März bis Oktober
Montag bis Freitag             13.00 Uhr
Samstag                                 11.00 Uhr | 13.00 Uhr | 15.00 Uhr
Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag   13.00 Uhr | 15.00 Uhr

November bis Februar
Montag bis Freitag              11.00 Uhr
Samstag                                 11.00 Uhr | 13.00 Uhr
Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag   13.00 Uhr

Dauer: ca. 60 min
Kosten: 9,50 € für Erwachsene, 7,50 € ermäßigt, 3,00 € für Schüler

Bitte beachten Sie im September gesonderte Führungszeiten aufgrund der Konzertproben im Rahmen der Merseburger Orgeltage.

Besichtigung der Fürstengruft

Aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Lage finden bis auf Weiteres keine Führungen in der Fürstengruft statt.

Immer am letzten Sonntag im Monat führen wir Sie hinab in die eindrückliche Fürstengruft des Merseburger Doms. Die drei mittelalterlichen Kapellen wurden zwischen dem 13. und 16. Jahrhundert errichtet, jedoch erst im 17. Jahrhundert durch Herzog Christian I. zu Sachsen-Merseburg zur Begräbnisstätte seines Hauses bestimmt. Insgesamt 37 aufwendig verzierte Zinn- und Holzsärge können Sie hier besichtigen. Sie erinnern daran, dass der Dom auch als barocke Hofkirche genutzt wurde, und erzählen uns viel über die
Bestattungskultur der Wettiner zur Zeit des Barocks.

Jeden letzten Sonntag im Monat: 14.00 Uhr
Kosten: 3,00 €

Aufgrund der begrenzten Platzkapazitäten empfehlen wir Ihnen eine Voranmeldung über unseren Besucherservice.

Öffentliche Turmführung

Aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Lage finden bis auf Weiteres keine Turmführungen statt.

Hier geht es hoch hinaus! Über die sogenannte Königstreppe führen wir Sie bis auf den beeindruckenden Dachstuhl des Doms. Vorbei am Glockengeläut mit Glocken aus dem 11. und 12. sowie 15. und 16. Jahrhundert geht es bis zur Aussichtsplattform des Süd-West-Turms. Der fantastische Blick über die Domanlage und die Dächer der Stadt bis weit hinein in die Region belohnt für den atemraubenden Aufstieg.

März bis Oktober

Freitag bis Sonntag, kirchl. Feiertag: 14.00 Uhr
Kosten: 3,00 € für Erwachsene, 1,00 € für Schüler

Voraussetzung für die Turmführung sind festes Schuhwerk und Höhentauglichkeit. Die Turmbesteigung ist nicht geeignet für Kinder unter 6 Jahren.

Rundgang mit Audioguide

Unsere Gäste können für den Rundgang im Merseburger Dom auch unseren Audioguide nutzen. Er ist im Eintrittspreis inbegriffen. Lassen Sie sich ganz nach Belieben durch den Dom, das Kapitelhaus und vorbei an zahlreichen Kunstschätzen führen. Der Audioguide bietet detaillierte Informationen zu allen Höhepunkten wie den Merseburger Zaubersprüchen, dem Grabmal Rudolfs von Schwaben oder dem Heinrichsaltar von Lucas Cranach d. Ä. Lauschen Sie außerdem der imposanten Ladegastorgel oder geheimnisvollen Sagen wie der Rabensage oder der mumifizierten Hand.

Dauer: ca. 120 min
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch