For groups of children

Important emperors and kings, mystical spells and legends as well as priceless works of art – in the KinderDomusMerseburch, children can experience history and culture first-hand. We offer a number of themed tours to introduce children to the changing history of the cathedral and even get creative. The wide variety of activities offered are aligned with the framework guidelines of the curricula and can be tailored to each group according to age. There are many opportunities to incorporate content from the subjects of History, Religious Education, Art, Biology, Maths and General Studies.

Please note the following in regard to all projects:

The projects are in German only. The activity prices and additional guided tour prices for the selected offers apply to groups of a minimum of 15 and maximum of 25 school children. One teacher and one accompanying adult receive a free ticket per group (excluding material costs).

We would advise booking in advance with an indication of your class level.

The Merseburg Incantations

Does magic exist? Over 1,000 years ago, people believed in wonders and attributed great power to their words and their gods. The Merseburg Cathedral keeps a treasure that dates back to this time and is unique in the world: the Merseburg Incantations are the only preserved Germanic spells in Germany. We visit the locations where the incantations were found and explain to the pupils how people lived, worked and spoke back then.  We also try to speak the mystical sounding Old High German language ourselves and decipher cryptic Karolingian minuscules. Who wants to do magic too?

Duration: 90 min
Project fee: 3.00 € per person

Henry II's coronation and Merseburg

King Henry II, later emperor, is regarded as the founder of the Merseburg Cathedral. Him being crowned king in 1002 was not undisputed as many others claimed the throne. Notable is the meeting between Henry II and the Saxon dukes on July 25th 1002 in Merseburg, which would later be named the “Sächsische Nachwahl” (confirmation of Henry’s coronation by the Saxon dukes) and is regarded as a highly dramatic political event. Together we find out more about this meeting and take on the roles of the king and the dukes ourselves. With colourful costumes and plenty of props, we re-enact what was happening that day in the Merseburg Cathedral.

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 5.00 € per person

Play the music! Welcome to Merseburg's court church

With its almost 5,700 pipes, the magnificent Ladegast organ in the Merseburg Cathedral really is the “Queen of all instruments”. Merseburg’s princes elaborately decorated the cathedral as court church already during the Baroque period. Of course, they could not leave out the organ. But how exactly does such a huge instrument work? How are the pipes supplied with enough air? And what happens when all stops are pulled out? Our children-organ allows us to find out about the functioning and technology of the instrument. Together with you, we want to take a look at the organ’s insides and understand the craftsmanship of past organ builders.

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

The mystery of the mummified hand

What is an anit-king? In the 11th century, the Merseburg Cathedral was the scene of a thrilling power struggle between Emperor Henry IV and Rudolf of Swabia who was backed by most princes. The anti-king’s precious gravestone at the centre of the cathedral still proves which side the Saxon princes chose. Additionally, the cathedral chapel has been keeping a mysterious mummified hand for centuries. It is attributed to Rudolf of Swabia, who lost his hand in the decisive battle and died shortly after. In a roleplay with medieval costumes, we re-enact the historic struggle and visualise the reasons for this conflict: the dispute between emperor and pope about power and influence over ecclesiastical and secular matters.

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 5.00 € per person

Romanesque - crypt's secret

Today, it is hard to imagine how people could build such a magnificent cathedral like in Merseburg 1,000 years ago. On this tour we want to examine the impressive construction and try to understand it with a little bit of mathematics. From the westwork and crypt to the embellishments at the centre of the church, we trace the difficulties of the building process and control whether everything was properly constructed according to measurements in the 11th century. We also reveal the secret why the grave of the anti-king Rudolf von Rheinfelden is located exactly at the crosspoint between nave and transept.

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

Discovery tour in the tower

We track 1000 years of the tower’s history! The traces of the past lead us over the King’s Stairs, passing medieval graffitis of construction workers and past students of the Domgymnasium, to the viewing deck on the South-West-tower. Here, we can see over the city skyline. In the attic, we find out about the Himmelsloch (heavenly hole) and inspect the massive medieval church bells. 

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

Fragrance sachets and magic bags

People in the Middle Ages used all sorts of methods to fight diseases: aromatic herbs, blessings or incantations like the Merseburg Incantations. For centuries soothing herbs and medicinal plants have grown at the Cathedral Garden. The knowledge about their usage and effect has been passed on from generation to generation. We roam through the blooming cathedral garden, find medicinal plants and make our own fragrant sacs and magic bags.

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

Measure and figure – project for half a day

On May 18th 1015, Bishop Thietmar laid the foundation for the Merseburg Cathedral. But exactly which methods and techniques were used to construct such an imposing building in only 6 and a half years? With small stories about what might have happened on the building site, pupils are brought closer to the exciting time of the building process. With mind, wits and a little bit of mathematics, accomplishments of these past workers can be measured. For preparation in school (approx. 2-3 h), we provide you with material.

Duration: 4 hours
Project fee: 9.00 € per person

Of Devil's claws and thievish ravens

There are numerous legends and myths about the Merseburg Cathedral. Here, for example, Bishop Thilo von Trotha was brought to desperation by a thievish raven. We find traces of devil’s claws at the walls and learn about how a turtle under the cathedral almost caused its collapse. On this tour, we also discover locations of written tales and take on the roles of their actors. How much truth might lie behind these legends?

Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

Christmas miracle

During the Middle Ages, when few people could read or write, numerous pictures of scenes from the bible were manufactured at churches. The Merseburg Cathedral also preserved many images of the tales about baby Jesus. We follow traces of the Christmas story and the customs that derive from it. In the following, we form our own souvenirs made of salt dough.

Can only be booked throughout Advent season
Duration: 120 min
Project fee: 4.00 € per person

FÜR KINDERGRUPPEN

Bedeutende Kaiser und Könige, mystische Zaubersprüche und Sagen sowie Kunstschätze von unschätzbarem Wert – im KinderDomusMerseburch erleben die Kinder Geschichte und Kultur hautnah. In zahlreichen thematischen Rundgängen bringen wir den Kindern die wechselvolle Domgeschichte näher und werden selbst kreativ. Die vielfältigen Angebote sind auf die Rahmenrichtlinien der Lehrpläne abgestimmt und können auf jede Gruppe altersgerecht zugeschnitten werden. Es bieten sich zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, die Inhalte der Fächer Geschichte, Religion, Kunst, Biologie, Mathematik und Sachkunde einzubinden.


Bitte beachten Sie Folgendes für alle Projekte:

Die Projektpreise und Führungszuschläge der ausgewählten Angebote beziehen sich auf eine Gruppengröße von mindestens 15 bis maximal 25 Schülern. Pro Gruppe gewähren wir einem Lehrer und einer Begleitperson eine Freikarte (Materialkosten exklusive).

Wir bitten um rechtzeitige Anmeldung mit Angabe der Klassenstufe.

Die Merseburger Zaubersprüche

Gibt es Zauberei? Vor über 1000 Jahren glaubten die Menschen an Wunder und legten große Hoffnung in die Kraft ihrer Worte und den Beistand der Götter. Der Merseburger Dom bewahrt einen weltweit einzigartigen Schatz aus dieser Zeit: die Merseburger Zaubersprüche, die einzigen in Deutschland erhaltenen heidnischen Beschwörungsformeln. Wir begeben uns an die Fundorte der Zaubersprüche und erläutern den Schülern, wie die Menschen in dieser Zeit lebten, arbeiteten und sprachen.  Dabei probieren wir die mystisch klingende althochdeutsche Sprache auch selbst aus und entziffern die geheimnisvollen karolingischen Minuskeln. Wer zaubert mit?

Dauer: 90 min
Projektgebühr: 3,00 € pro Person

Heinrich II. zur Krönung in Merseburg

König Heinrich II., der spätere Kaiser, gilt als Stifter des heutigen Merseburger Doms. Seine Krönung zum König im Jahre 1002 war nicht unumstritten, erhoben doch auch andere Anspruch auf den Thron. Die denkwürdige Begegnung Heinrichs II. mit den sächsischen Herzögen am 25. Juli 1002 in Merseburg, die sogenannte „Sächsische Nachwahl“ des Königs, war somit ein hochdramatisches politisches Ereignis. Gemeinsam gehen wir dieser Nachwahl auf den Grund und schlüpfen dafür selbst in die Rolle des Königs und der Herzöge. Mit bunten Kostümen und vielen Requisiten spielen wir auf dem Domgelände das historische Geschehen nach.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  5,00 € pro Person

Musik bitte! Willkommen in der Merseburger Hofkirche

Mit fast 5.700 Pfeifen ist die prächtige Ladegast-Orgel im Merseburger Dom wahrlich die „Königin der Instrumente“. Bereits die Merseburger Fürsten statteten den Dom in der Zeit des Barocks als Hofkirche aus. Dabei durfte vor allem eine Orgel nicht fehlen. Doch wie funktioniert so ein riesiges Instrument? Wie werden die Pfeifen mit ausreichend Luft versorgt? Und was passiert, wenn alle Register gezogen werden? Eine spezielle Kinder-Dom-Orgel erlaubt es uns, die Funktionsweise und das technische Innenleben des Instruments zu ergründen. Durch die ungewöhnlichen Einblicke hinter den Prospekt in das Orgelwerk wollen wir zusammen das alte Handwerk der Orgelbauer nachempfinden.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  4,00 € pro Person

Das Rätsel der mumifizierten Hand

Was ist ein Gegenkönig? Im 11. Jahrhundert war der Merseburger Dom Schauplatz eines spannenden Machtkampfs zwischen Kaiser Heinrich IV. und dem von vielen Fürsten unterstützten Rudolf von Schwaben. Die wertvolle Grabplatte des Gegenkönigs mitten im Dom verdeutlicht auch heute noch, welche Seite die Sächsischen Fürsten wählten. Das Domkapitel verwahrt außerdem seit Jahrhunderten eine mysteriöse mumifizierte Hand. Sie wird Rudolf von Schwaben zugeordnet, der seine Hand in der entscheidenden Schlacht verlor und kurz darauf starb. Durch Rollenspiele in mittelalterlichen Kostümen erleben wir den historischen Streit nach und führen die Ursprünge des Konflikts eindrücklich vor Augen: der Streit zwischen Kaiser und Papst um Einfluss und Macht der kirchlichen und weltlichen Gewalt.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  5,00 € pro Person

Romanik – das Geheimnis der Krypta

Für uns ist es heute nur noch schwer vorstellbar, wie die Menschen vor über 1000 Jahren ein solch imposantes Gebäude wie den Merseburger Dom errichten konnten. Auf einem Rundgang wollen wir deshalb die beeindruckende Bauweise entdecken und sie mit etwas mathematischem Geschick nachempfinden. Vom Westwerk über die Krypta bis hin zur Vierung im Zentrum der Kirche gehen wir den Schwierigkeiten beim Bau nach und kontrollieren, wie maßgerecht im 11. Jahrhundert gearbeitet wurde. Dabei lüften wir auch das Geheimnis, warum sich das Grabmal des Gegenkönigs Rudolf von Rheinfelden genau im Kreuzungspunkt von Quer- und Langhaus befindet.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr: 4,00 € pro Person

Entdeckungstour im Turm

Wir erklimmen 1000 Jahre Turmgeschichte. Die Spuren der Vergangenheit führen über die Königstreppe, vorbei an den mittelalterlichen Graffiti der Handwerker und der ehemaligen Schüler des Domgymnasiums, zum Aussichtspunkt auf dem Süd-West-Turm. Von hier erstreckt sich der Blick über die Dächer der Stadt. Auf dem Dachboden entdecken wir, was es mit dem Himmelsloch auf sich hat, und besichtigen die beeindruckenden mittelalterlichen Glocken. 

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  4,00 € pro Person

Duftsäckchen und Zauberbeutel

Mit Heil- und Duftpflanzen, Segenssprüchen oder Beschwörungsformeln wie den Merseburger Zaubersprüchen wussten sich die Menschen im Mittelalter gegen Krankheiten zu wehren. Im Domgarten wachsen seit Jahrhunderten wohltuende Kräuter und magische Heilpflanzen. Das Wissen um die Wirkung und Verwendung wird seit jeher von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben. Wir durchstreifen den blühenden Domgarten, finden magische Pflanzen und gestalten eigene Duftsäckchen und Zauberbeutel.

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr:  4,00 € pro Person

Maß und Zahl – Halbtagsprojekt

Am 18. Mai 1015 legte Bischof Thietmar den Grundstein für den Merseburger Dom. Doch mit welchen Methoden und Techniken konnte ein derart erstaunliches Gebäude innerhalb von 6 1/2 Jahren errichtet werden? Die Schüler durchleben die für Merseburg so aufregende Bauzeit und hören Geschichten, die sich wohl damals am Bauplatz zugetragen haben. Mit Verstand, Witz und etwas Mathematik lassen sich die Leistungen der damaligen Akteure ermessen. Für die inhaltliche Vorbereitung in der Schule (ca. 2–3 h) stellen wir Ihnen Arbeitsmaterial zur Verfügung.

Dauer: 4 Stunden
Projektgebühr: 9,00 € pro Person

Von Teufelskrallen und diebischen Raben

Zahlreiche Sagen und Mythen ranken sich um den Merseburger Dom. Hier trieb zum Beispiel ein diebischer Rabe Bischof Thilo von Trotha zur Verzweiflung. Wir finden auch Spuren von Teufelskrallen im Gemäuer und erfahren, wie eine Schildkröte unter dem Dom das ganze imposante Gebäude zum Einsturz zu bringen drohte. Auf einem Rundgang entdecken wir Schauplätze des überlieferten Geschehens und schlüpfen in die Rollen der Akteure. Wie viel Wahrheit steckt wohl hinter all den Sagen?

Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr: 4,00 € pro Person

Wunder der Weihnacht

Im Mittelalter, zu einer Zeit als wenige Menschen lesen und schreiben konnten, entstanden in den Kirchen viele Bilder, die von Ereignissen aus der Bibel erzählen. Auch im Merseburger Dom künden zahlreiche Bildnisse von den Ereignissen um das Jesuskind. Wir begeben uns auf die Spuren der Weihnachtsgeschichte und den daraus entstandenen Bräuchen. Anschließend fertigen wir ein weihnachtliches Andenken aus Salzteig.

Buchbar in der Adventszeit
Dauer: 120 min
Projektgebühr: 4,00 € pro Person